There is another part in the book “If you want to walk on water, you’ve got to get out of the boat" touched me.

Ortberg talked about Joseph’s life. In Genesis, Joseph was in jail while he had been innocent and even run away from temptation. It would be easy for Joseph to become isolated, to focus only on his own disappointment. However, he asked Pharaoh’s officers, who were also in jail, ‘Why are your faces downcast today?’

Joseph didn’t dwelled in self-pity or self-preoccupied even he was in a “storm". He was sincerely concerned for others. Ortberg says that compassion can only be developed in suffering. Wise people learn not to dread but actually to welcome problems and actually to welcome the pain of problems.

My problem is that I’m always trying to get rid of that. I feel bored and tired. I don’t want to get rid of that anymore. It’s really useless. It’s an abuse of my strength and energy. I should use my energy to solve that, not to get rid of that. I want to make everyone around me feel sweety and comforted from me, not angry. I surrender.